Attachment 1

466th Meeting of the FM Metro COG Transportation Technical Committee Thursday, October 13th, 2016 – 10:00 am West Fargo City Hall

Members Present:

Jason	Benson	Cass County
Julie	Bommelman	City of Fargo, MATBUS
William	Christian	Metro COG
Hali	Durand	Cass County
Michael	Johnson	NDDOT
Kim	Lipetzky	Fargo Cass Public Health / Bike/Ped. Rep.
Aaron	Nelson (alternate for Jim Gilmour)	City of Fargo
Brit	Stevens	ND Universities Representative
Stan	Thurlow	City of Dilworth
Tom	Trowbridge (alternate for Jonathan Atkins)	City of Moorhead
Lori	Van Beek	City of Moorhead, MATBUS
Mark	Vaux	GFMEDC / Economic Development Rep.
Larry	Weil	City of West Fargo
Mark	Wolter	Midnite Express, Inc. / Freight Rep.
Chad	Zander (alternate for Chris Brungardt)	City of West Fargo

Members Absent:

Jeremy	Gorden	City of Fargo
Kristie	Leshovsky	City of Moorhead
Tim	Magnusson	Clay County
David	Overbo	Clay County

Others Present:

Adam	Altenburg	Metro COG
David	Burns	Metro COG
Dan	Farnsworth	Metro COG
Michael	Maddox	Metro COG
Savanna	Leach	Metro COG
Dan	Bergerson	HDR
Jeremy	McLaughlin	Houston-Moore Group
Lyndon	Pease	Houston-Moore Group
Bobbie	Retzlaff	MnDOT
Rocky	Schneider	Policy Board/AE2S

1. CALL TO ORDER AND INTRODUCTIONS

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 am, on October 13 by Chair Christian. A quorum was present.

2. APPROVE September 08, 2015 TTC MEETING MINUTES (Attachment 1)

Chair Christian asked if there were any questions or changes to the September 08, 2015 TTC Meeting Minutes. No changes or corrections were offered.

Motion: Approve the September 08, 2015 TTC Minutes. Mr. Weil moved, seconded by Ms. Durand. *MOTION*, PASSED Motion carried unanimously. Vote of 15-0.

3. Public Comment Opportunity No public comments were made or received.

No MOTION

4. 2017-2018 Unified Planning Work Program

Chair Christian presented the final draft Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) for 2017-2018. He noted and presented various minor changes that had been made to the UPWP since packets were mailed to TTC members.

Motion: Recommend Policy Board Approval of 2017-2018 Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) as presented with changes. Mr. Thurlow moved, seconded by Ms. Van Beek MOTION, PASSED Motion carried unanimously. Vote of 15-0.

5. Contract for Regional Railroad Crossing Safety Study

Chair Christian presented the Draft Contract for the Regional Railroad Crossing Safety Study. He noted that the only proposed changes to the contract after it was sent out was to change HDR to HDR Engineering, Inc. HDR was one of three finalists for contract.

Motion: Recommend Policy Board Approval of Contract for Regional Railroad Crossing Safety Study- Authorization for Chair Signature Mr. Benson moved, seconded by Mr. Trowbridge MOTION, PASSED Motion carried unanimously. Vote of 15-0.

6. Minnesota Department of Transportation Planning Grant Contract

Chair Christian presented the MnDOT Planning Grant Contract. He stated that the funding identified for 2017 is \$26,820 in state funds and is contingent on terms of the contract.

Motion: Recommend Policy Board Approval of MnDOT Planning Grant Contract-Authorization for Chair Signature Mr. Vaux moved, seconded by Mr. Thurlow MOTION, PASSED Motion carried unanimously. Vote of 15-0.

7. Draft Aerial Photography/ LiDAR Request for Proposals

David Burns of the FM Metro COG presented the Draft Aerial Photography and LiDAR RFP for consideration.

Motion: Recommend Policy Board Approval of Request for Proposals start date of October 24th Mr. Thurlow moved, seconded by Mr. Trowbridge MOTION, PASSED Motion carried unanimously. Vote of 15-0.

8. Sheyenne Street Corridor Study Final Report

Dan Farnsworth of the FM Metro COG presented the final report from the Sheyenne Street Corridor Study. He outlined the timeline and study recommendations. He explained that the City of West Fargo is satisfied with study outcome and findings.

Motion: Recommend Policy Board Approval of Overall Study Mr. Weil moved, seconded by Mr. Zander *MOTION*, PASSED Motion carried unanimously. Vote of 15-0.

9. Consolidated Planning Grant (CPG) Formula Discussion with Michael Johnson

Michael Johnson presented a CPG Formula Discussion for MPOs. Fargo-Moorhead and Bismarck MPOs are still operating under the 2015 grants, while Grand Forks is into the 2016 grant and almost out. Grand Forks has never operated with an on-going balance, whereas F-M and Bismarck are consistently operating on older grants with a running balance of newer grants. Discussion opened on possible CPG formula change. Grand Forks can receive a transfer in funds as a short-term fix; a long-term fix would be a change in funding formula. With Minot as a possible upcoming MPO, this may not be the time for a formula change.

10. Presentation on the Flood Control Diversion Project with Jason Benson

Jason Benson and Rocky Schneider presented an update on the Flood Control Diversion Project. Presentation included information on Flood Risk Identification, a Minnesota DNR update, federal involvement, financing, and plans for mitigation, construction, and transportation.

11. Upcoming Grant Solicitations

Dan Farnsworth reminded the committee that deadlines for grant solicitations for the MN/ND Transportation Alternatives program are approaching. Minnesota jurisdiction letters of intent are due to Metro COG by October 31, 2016, and final due date is January 13, 2017. North Dakota jurisdiction deadline is December 5, 2016. The Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP) (ND Jurisdictions) due date to Metro COG is December 5, 2016.

12. Regional Safety Committee Update

Dave Burns presented an update on the Regional Safety Committee. The committee has not yet met, but are planning to do so before the end of 2016. The committee is looking for volunteers from the TTC to coordinate for EMS, Fire, Police, etc. individuals who would do well for this.

13. 2017 FM Bikeways Maps Update

Dan Farnsworth informed the TTC that 2017 Fargo-Moorhead bikeways maps have been printed and are ready for distribution. Maps were provided for each jurisdiction, and have been delivered around town.

14. Introduction of Savanna Leach, FM Metro COG's Executive Secretary

Savanna Leach was introduced as the new FM Metro COG Executive Secretary.

15. Other Business

Chair Christian brought up that the Metro COG is printing and mailing a lot of full packets to TTC members. Those capable should consider the digital format and Agenda-only mailer. Executive Secretary Savanna Leach will contact members for updates in mailing preferences.

16. Adjourn

The 466th Regular Meeting of the TTC was adjourned on October 13th at 11:58 a.m.

17. THE NEXT FM METRO COG TRANSPORTATION TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEETING WILL BE HELD November 10th, 2016, 10:00 A.M. AT THE FM METRO COG CONFERENCE ROOM, ONE NORTH 2ND STREET, CASE PLAZA SUITE 232, FARGO, ND.

Respectfully Submitted,

Savanna K. Leach Executive Secretary